Real Shropshire Blues

…at the Pop-Up Blues Folk Bar at The Parkway, Corve Street, Ludlow SY8 2PG.

It’s just off Corve Street via a passage (since this is Shropshire, I should probably say ‘shut’) leading to the library, on the same side as the Feathers but further down the hill.

It’s a tiny venue, with a single loo up the stairs. (Reminded me a little of Bunjies, but at least you don’t have to ask for the key. OTOH, downstairs is a lot smaller than the London venue was…)

Will Killeen played there recently, which sounds like a recommendation to me (I booked him several times back in the dark ages when I ran folk clubs in London), but I was unable to get to that one. Last night I went to see Trevor Rowley, who turned out to be a competent performer playing quite a lot of slide and including several Robert Johnson songs, a piece very loosely based on Blind Willie Johnson’s beautiful piece ‘Dark was the night, cold was the ground’, T-Bone Walker’s ‘Stormy Monday’, and Muddy Waters’ ‘I can’t be satisfied’.

The venue is apparently booked into May. More information when I have some… (Or you could contact Stuart on 07462266575.

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

