Frankwell, Shrewsbury: the old String of Horses/Co-op building

This is another drawing by my uncle, Eddie Parker. It shows the building in Frankwell, Shrewsbury, that I remember as the Co-op. However, according to Historic Buildings In Art, a web site devoted to the work of William Albert Green (mostly pen and ink drawings), the building was originally built in 1576 by John Worrall as two houses.

co-op3

For some time it was an inn that went under various names, notably ‘The String of Horses‘. Part of the building became a Co-operative Store after a fire in 1912. It was dismantled around 1971 to make way for the Frankwell roundabout, but was rebuilt at the Avoncroft Museum at Bromsgrove. (I’ve been promising myself a visit to the museum for years but never made it yet.)

Shrewsbury Museums Service has a photograph of the building here, and there’s a drawing by William Green here, one of a number of hisShrewsbury drawings. As a current resident of Ludlow, I like his drawings of our little town, too, but it seems he drew subjects from all over England and Wales.

I suppose for consistency I ought to include a photo of the roundabout to show what the area looks like now. Perhaps the next time I visit the folk club at the Old Bucks Head I’ll remember to take one. 🙂

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

