Bear Steps

This is a bit of an outlier. It’s a watercolour of mine based on a photograph but has subsequently been the subject of some experimentation in Photoshop, so currently exists in this form purely as a virtual artifact. Very Zen.

In any case, it’s very different to the drawings by my uncle Eddy Parker that I’ve previously put up on this blog. As anyone who has seen the cartoons I sometimes put up on WeLiveSecurity or Dataholics will (hopefully) notice, I put a lot more effort into this than I do into those (example below), but I’m not the draughtsman he was.

bearsteps mono lite

I can’t at this moment lay hands on the photograph this was based on, but here’s one taken at about the same time. Note the resemblance in the timber framing on the South-facing end of the building to the building shown in Eddy’s drawing of St. Alkmond’s Place, which leads me to believe that his drawing shows the same house. There’s a certain poignancy to this: it’s the house where my grandmother lived when she was first married, and where Eddy himself was born.

bearsteps house lite

So here’s one of the cartoons I mentioned, just to prove I have no artistic pretensions. 😉

munch

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World
ESET Senior Research Fellow

 

Leave a Reply

